BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Applied Law

Pearson BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Applied Law (QCF) Overview

Qualification Number (QN): 500/7719/3

Credit value: 60

Guided Learning Hours: 360

Total Qualification Time : 600

Awarding Body: Edexcel

What is the purpose of this qualification?

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Applied Law is primarily a Technical Level qualification, equivalent in size to an A level, which has been designed to occupy one third of the curriculum within a broader programme of study, which could include other vocational or academic qualifications. Its main purpose is to allow learners to develop the core specialist knowledge, understanding and skills, including dispute solving in the legal system and aspects of legal liability, required by the legal sector.

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Applied Law also provides a well-established route into a variety of specialist Higher Education (HE) courses in this sector, when taken alongside other qualifications appropriate for the desired course of study. UCAS has reviewed the qualification to assess its value for access to higher education, and has allocated UCAS points.

What does this qualification cover?

To successfully achieve this qualification  learners must complete three mandatory units plus optional units that provide for a combined total of 60 credits.

There are 3 mandatory or compulsory units which values – 30 credits.  The remaining 30 credits are from optional units that will be chosen between yourself and your assessor

The 3  mandatory or compulsory units are:


  • Unit 01: Dispute Solving in the Legal System (credit 10, GLH 60)
  • Unit 02: Understanding Law Making (credit 10, GLH 60)
  • Unit 03: Aspects of Legal Liability (credit 10, GLH 60)


How is this qualification assessed?

In BTEC Nationals all units are internally assessed. All assessment for BTEC Nationals is criterion referenced, based on the achievement of specified learning outcomes. Each unit within the qualification has specified assessment and grading criteria which are to be used for grading purposes. A summative unit grade can be awarded at pass, merit or distinction:

  • To achieve a ‘pass’ a learner must have satisfied all the pass assessment criteria
  • To achieve a ‘merit’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the merit grading criteria
  • To achieve a ‘distinction’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the distinction grading criteria.

Who could take this qualification?

This qualification is for all learners aged  16-18 and 19+ who are capable of reaching the required standards. It is also appropriate for those aged 16 who are ready to start an element of level 3 vocational study while completing aspects of their level 2 programme. This specification is also designed to appeal to both full-time learners interested in a career in law, and to those who already have experience of working in the sector.

What could this qualification lead to?

This Qualification provide opportunities for full-time learners to gain a nationally recognised vocationally-specific qualification to enter employment in the legal sector or to progress to higher education vocational qualifications such as the Edexcel Level 5 BTEC Higher National in Business (Law) or a Foundation Degree in Business and Law or on to a law honours degree.