BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Health and Social Care

Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Health and Social Care Overview

Qualification Number (QN):500/9465/8

Credit value: 120

Guided Learning Hours: 720

Total Qualification Time (TQT):1200

Qualification Type: BTEC National

Awarding Body : Edexcel

What is the purpose of this qualification?

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care (QCF) is part of a larger suite of health and social care qualifications, in a range of sizes, which share the common purpose of helping people to become occupationally ready to take up employment in the health and social care sector at the appropriate level. This qualification is broadly equivalent to two GCE A Levels. It has been designed to occupy two-thirds of a full-time curriculum, enabling learners to develop a significant common core of knowledge, including communication skills, equality and diversity, health, safety and security, human lifespan development, anatomy and physiology, sociological and psychological perspectives

What does this qualification cover?

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care consists of eight mandatory units (providing 480 guided learning hours or 80 credits) plus optional units that provide for a further 240 guided learning hours (40 credits) to produce a combined total of 720 guided learning hours (GLH) or 120 credits for the completed qualification. Note : that there is no compensation for the mandatory units. These units must be successfully achieved.

The 8 mandatory units are :

Unit 01: Developing Effective Communication in Health and Social Care (credit10)

Unit 02: Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health and Social Care (credit10)

Unit 03: Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care(credit10)

Unit 04: Development Through the Life Stages (credit10)

Unit 05: Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care (credit 10)

Unit 06: Personal and Professional Development in Health and Social Care (credit 20)

Unit 07: Sociological Perspectives for Health and Social Care (credit 5)

Unit 08 Psychological Perspectives for Health and Social Care (credit 5)

The optional units will be chosen between yourself and your assessor.

How is this qualification assessed?

This qualification is assessed through internal assessment by your tutor or assessor using a range of methods  (written assignments, practical tasks, portfolio of evidence, centre devised assessments etc). Learners are also required to study personal and professional development, which requires a minimum of 100 hours in placement within health and social care settings.

Who could take this qualification?

This qualification is for all learners aged 16-18 and 19+ who are capable of reaching the required standards . The Pearson BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care is mainly designed for those learners who know in which sector they would like to specialise.

What could this qualification lead to?

Learners that successfully complete their programme of study could progress onto a Extended Diploma or Higher National Diploma. Previous Level three students have gone directly into employment in areas of growth in finance, administration and management.

Potential job roles for those working towards this qualification are:

  • Care Assistant
  • Social Worker
  • Team Leader/ Supervisor
  • Health Care Assistant